Blue Team Vs Red Team. A Tale of dragonflies.

Hello again my friends and enemies, the subject of todays post is dragonflies. In the last few weeks I’ve been lucky enough to spot a few of these colourful bastards hanging around the ponds and still waters of Coimbra. They move through the air pretty damn fast so it was difficult to get pictures of them in flight so I just went with the lazy option and waited till they land.

Blue Team.

Reflection_Dragonfly_Blue

Dragonfly_Blue_Portrait

Dragonfly_Blue

Blue_Dragonfly_Perched

Blue_Dragonfly

 

Red Team:

Dragonfly_red_Perched

Red_Dragonfly

Perched_Red_Dragonfly

Dragonfly_red_

Dragonfly_Red

 

So let me know what you think of them and feel free to share them with friends and co-workers.

Peace and Love,

Ciaran.

P.S. After a little bit of research I think all the dragonflies in my pictures are male, as males tend to perch on things and watch while the females fly around depositing eggs. And I think the red ones are called Red-Veined Darters and the blue ones are called blue dashers but hopefully an expert can tell me if I’m right or wrong about my research.

 

P.P.S I just found out that the blue team is actually damselflies not blue dashers. Lesson Learned.

Leave a comment